The evening kicked off with a Champagne reception before guests sat down to a pre-recorded opening tributeto the Awards courtesy of Heston Blumenthal and Raymond Blanc.

Jason Atherton of the Pollen Street Social, awarded his fourth AA Rosette on the night, created a three-course menu of scallop ceviche, salt roast lamb and tiramisu, prepared by the hotel’s kitchen team under Atherton’s direction.

After dinner, Kate Silverton presented Awards and Rosettes, including the Chefs’ Choice Award, which went toPierre Koffmann and the Lifetime Achievement Awards which, introduced by Raymond Blanc, went to Antonio Carluccio OBE, who today launches his Memoirs.

Claude Bosi picked up five AA Rosettes for Hibiscus, while recipents of four Rosettes included:The Pass Restaurant at South Lodge Hotel, Lower Beeding,Casamia, Bristol,Pollen Street Social, London and7 Park Place by William Drabble, London.

And the winners are…

Hotel of the Year England – Lime Wood, Lyndhurst, Hampshire

Hotel of the Year Scotland – The Torridon, Torridon, Highlands

Hotel of the Year Wales – Bodysgallen Hall and Spa, Llandudno

Hotel of the Year London – Four Seasons Hotel, Park Lane, London W1

Restaurant of the Year England – The Church Green British Grill, Lymm, Cheshire

Restaurant of the Year Scotland – Rogano, Glasgow

Restaurant of the Year Wales – Sosban, Llanelli

Restaurant of the Year London – Dinner by Heston Blumenthal, London SW1

Wine Award England & Overall Winner – L’Etranger, London

Wine Award Scotland – Castle Terrace Restaurant, Edinburgh

Wine Award Wales – The Felin Fach Griffin, Brecon, Wales

AA Pub of the Year England – The Black Swan, Ravenstonedale

Pub of the Year Scotland – West Brewery, Glasgow

AA Pub of the Year Wales – The Inn at Penallt, Monmouth

Small Hotel Group of the Year – Cotswold Inns and Hotels

Hotel Group of the Year – Hand Picked Hotels

Eco Hotel of the Year – The Green House, Bournemouth

Eco Hotel Group of the Year – Macdonald Hotels and Resorts

Chefs’ Chef – Pierre Koffmann

Lifetime Achievement – Antonio Carluccio OBE